I need more non-Christian friends on Facebook (and other thoughts about the Digital Day of Outreach)

Standard

We had our Digital Day of Outreach last Tuesday… and I’m still trying to take it all in. 10505555_704033839664553_7561683648455893440_n

What. Just. Happened?!

Over A THOUSAND AND SIX HUNDRED exposures to the gospel and spiritual conversations? What?! Where did that come from? How did that happen?!

GOD, of course. Amazing, amazing. As one of the people who planned and oversaw the event, it was amazing to see this come into fruition. Because truth be told, I was not expecting that.

I was not expecting everyone to be so game.  Because we were trying to anticipate tech difficulties, especially in setting up the WatchThinkChat platform*, we were worried that people, especially the not-so-techie people, would be overwhelmed or get discouraged. But everyone was so game! Oh, they were!

The students, predictably, easily got the instructions and were able to immediately use WatchThinkChat for their conversations. The older people, despite some challenges, were so teachable and patient in learning how.

And what about the other 5 teams in the regions who also did DDO simultaneously with us?

It made me realize: We have a gold mine of human resources, a vast pool of laborers just waiting to be mobilized.

I need more non-Christian friends on Facebook. I’m picky when it comes to Facebook friends. I reason, “It’s my privacy at stake here! I need to protect myself! We don’t talk anyway!” And all that jazz. Still, that reasoning falls flat when I realize the time, influence, resource and platform I waste when I don’t consider Facebook as a mission field. That goes for all the other social media.

I am not really that intentional in sharing the Gospel online, one on one. Not yet. Sure, I blog. I write. I use online resources. But I haven’t developed the habit yet. I have yet to develop that mindset. When I go on Facebook, I don’t instantly think — “Hmm, who is online at this moment? To whom can I share the gospel?”

10387345_10152211344472849_4349053470741229167_n

Prudy Verzo from YouVersion the Bible App, Jeff Lucas from YesHeIs Philippines, Mike Medlin and Lyn Balasico from UCB Media Philippines

How cool was it that people from YouVersion the Bible App, UCB Media Philippines and YesHeIs Philippines showed up? I don’t even have any words for that, except: AWESOME. It is so encouraging to talk to like-hearted people with a Kingdom mindset. Already we are talking about partnerships!

“How did you get wind of our DDO,” I asked them.

It was Jeff Lucas who saw the link (a friend showed it to him, actually). Then his boss required him to attend. He in turn invited Mike, Lyn, and Prudy.

Also, it was so funny how they all but pounced one me when they found out that I’m a writer. Apparently, in this kind of ministry (maybe just in the Philippines), there is a deficit of writers or content-creators.

Makes me wonder — what would it take to raise up a pool of content creators for the digital ministry?

What do you think about Digital Outreach?

Did you join our Digital Day of Outreach? How was your experience compared to mine?

 

 

 

 

*WatchThinkChat is a platform for online evangelism. Ask me about it! Send me a PM or email at sglawagan@gmail.com

2 responses »

What do you think of all this? Let the Missionartist know!

