Neo is telling me goodbye.

Standard

Me: It’s been, what, three years? THREE YEARS!

Neo: Three years indeed.

Me: Think of everything we went through. We did class reports together. We did my thesis together.

Neo: We did spend a long time together.

Me: RIGHT? Remember all those late hours?

Neo: Yeah. All those nights we spent editing your thesis!

Me: And making all those citations and stuff.

Neo: It paid off anyway. You got the coveted uno.

Me: That’s what I’m saying! And what about those many hours we spent in my English-tutoring job?

Neo: Ha-ha, I remember. I almost always got so exhausted in that job.

Me: You did easily get exhausted by the third hour of teaching English to those Japanese students.

Neo: I did. Never really liked that job.

Me: But we were together. That’s what mattered. So why would you leave me? Why would you do this?

Neo: It’s not that I want to!

Me: What do you mean?! You were perfectly fine last week! We hadn’t even been engaged in any exhausting activity recently.

Neo: I don’t know… three years. That’s a long time.

Me: Please, Neo. I need you.

Neo: I’m not sure. I don’t think I can do this anymore.

Me:  Don’t do this to me, please!!!

Neo: It’s not like you didn’t want to replace me. Don’t lie! I know you’ve been looking around.

Me: But that’s unfair! I was never disloyal to you!

Neo: It doesn’t matter anymore.

Me: Why would you say that? Why would you even think that?

Neo: I’m sorry, Sarah. We were growing apart anyway. I know you’ve wanted to do a lot of things I couldn’t do, or help you do.

Me: Please, Neo. Please. Fine, please stay with me for at least two months!

Neo: Don’t make this harder, Sarah.

Me: Just two months more please?

Neo: (Sigh) I’ll try, Sarah. Can’t give any promises though. I’m dying. But I love you.

Me: I know. I love you too.

Neo: I hope your new laptop, whatever it will be, will make you happier.

 

…and that was my imaginary conversation with my three-year old laptop, Neo. Sigh. I can’t afford it breaking down anytime soon.

3 responses »

What do you think of all this? Let the Missionartist know!

