What if my Prayers do not bring me a summit experience?

Standard

I remember the first time I climbed Mount Pulag. 

The sky was gloomy that day. That morning, I was almost convinced not to join the hike.

And when I stepped out from the Rangers’ Station and saw the mud resembling chocolate pudding in vast quantities, and when I felt the first slap of wind on my already nearly-frozen face, I was almost completely discouraged. Still, the prospect of standing at the summit and having an amazing experience was very strong.

Ahh, the summit. The thought itself was very tempting.

So I climbed.

I climbed despite the continuous drizzling. I climbed despite the spectacular mud trails. And despite the extreme numbing cold, and the muscle pains, and even indigestion. All for the summit experience.

Aaaand when we finally arrived at our destination….

It was NOT. Worth. It.

No, it was not. We clearly arrived at the wrong hour. The summit reserved its displays of beauty at sunrise. At that hour, when the sun first peeked from the east is when the glorious is revealed.

Sometimes, as I go through prayer and fasting, I remember that first Pulag experience. To be sure, physically, it will be challenge… but haven’t I always told myself that difficulty breeds quality, breeds excellence? As my pastor once said, you pray and fast for the results, for the end, that is of having specific concerns answered, or payers answered, and most especially having God reveal Himself more to me.

As I draw near to God, He will draw near to me. But what if my expectations are not met?

What if, despite my pleas and prayers and meditation, God chooses to respond with silence? What if there is not glorious summit experience?

I will choose to believe that even in His silence, God has a purpose.

I will choose to trust that He will reveal Himself to me in His own perfect time.

And should this be the case, unlike my Pulag experience, I will not leave empty-handed.

Besides, in the Pulag experience, I only had the “glorious summit experience” to look forward to.

This time, the Glorious Himself is with me, every step of the way.

The Sea of Clouds: What we should have seen at the Summit, and what tourists and hikers come for. This artsy photo is by my friend Louella Marie Pader.

The Sea of Clouds: What we should have seen at the Summit, and what tourists and hikers come for. This artsy photo is by my friend Louella Marie Pader.

One response »

  1. Well it takes an Audacious Faith to believe in God’s Promises. Every Prayer and Fasting let us focus our attention to the Promise Keeper. Declare and Claim His Promises in our life ( not in a Manipulative Materialistic Selfish Way, but in Genuine Faith and Trust in God’s Sovereignty).

    Just to share: I had an opportunity to visit Pico De Loro. My sister had a Thesis about it. They started Hiking at 11am and they came down almost 7pm. I can imagine the daring determination to get to the peak to see His Wonders. But the way to the Peak is tough.

    Same thing with us. It takes determination and audacity to Trust in God in tough times.

What do you think of all this? Let the Missionartist know!

