When the Roof Crashes Over Your Head

Standard

This morning, as in, in the wee hours of the morning, at around 2am, I was contentedly finishing some chick flick movie when I heard a dull thud coming from outside my door.

Now, had I been NOT wearing earphones, I would’ve heard a terrific crash, but I didn’t.

About thirty minutes later, I went out of the room… and found out what the commotion was all about. The ceiling in ate Jenny’s room had literally CRASHED DOWN, creating a nasty, uneven hole.

The first things that came to mind were:

-Oh man, this is the most exciting thing that’s happened since Monday (we were trapped indoors because of Typhoon Maring).

-Good thing ate Jenny didn’t get hurt. How did she dodge all that ceiling?!

-Tsk tsk tsk, poor craftsmanship. Poor materials.

-Oh NO. Ate Jenny is just plain pissed. Understandably so. You would if you were sleeping soundly and the roof suddenly crashed over your head.

-I must have had the volume turned up really loud. How could I have not heard all the commotion outside?

-I wonder what’ll happen now.

-We still have a lot to thank God for. We have food, and water, and at least we still have most of our roof intact. Others don’t even have a roof.

 

But just this evening, when I went home, I arrived to find the older adults (which is, all of them) seriously discussing whether or not to move out and find another house. Sigh, but I like it here. 😦 Easy for me to say, of course, didn’t have the ceiling fall down on me.

Tomorrow we shall have a household meeting and decide the next steps. I’m kinda nervous.

3 responses »

What do you think of all this? Let the Missionartist know!

