Evangelism is a lot of things, but it isn’t scary.

Standard

Being enamored with a dream and convinced by a vision is not enough to fulfill it.

I am reminded by this as I read this from The Write Practice: “There must be something driving you more than the desire to be one in a million, as that appeal rarely turns into motivation. Normally, the hunger to be on New York Times Bestseller list leaves me from accomplishing everything but writing. It takes laying all that aside and saying, “Kellen, just one sentence,” to finally remind myself that writing isn’t scary. It’s challenging. It’s rewarding. It’s frustrating. It’s a long list of things, but scary it is not.”

The writer is talking about how, as a writer, looking too much on the dream (in this case, to be one of the bestsellers, to “be one in a million”) causes stalling.

As a writer, I can relate to that. Sure, I can write for myself. I can write for an individual and several people even. But as an artist I have this innate desire to be read by as much people as possible.

I find, however, that I can relate to this too as a Christian doing evangelism.

A Christian’s dream is to let Christ be known, to help fulfill the Great Commission. We remind ourselves of that. We read the Bible and other Christian literature about it. We listen to Christian leaders and people around us talk about it. We “vision-cast”.

But, like I said, being enamored by a vision is not enough to fulfill it, no matter how convinced you are of it.

Don’t even get started on how we as Christians should be convicted, blah blah. Because believe it or not, I am convicted! I am convinced! I TRULY believe in fulfilling the Great Commission! Still, again, just as Steve Smith and Ying Kai say, “Conviction does not equal obedience.”

And so my sentiments (patterned from the writer Kellen’s) go like this:

“There is something driving me more than the desire to just evangelize (or see a task done), as that appeal rarely turns into motivation. Normally, the hunger to help fulfill The Great Commission leaves me from accomplishing everything but evangelize. It takes laying all that aside and saying, “Sarah, just initiate*,” to remind myself that evangelism isn’t scary. It’s challenging. It’s rewarding. It’s frustrating. It’s a long list of things, but scary it is not.”

 1377968_10202322695928454_524949947_n

 

*Faithful to our CCC evangelism philosphy: that success in witnessing is simply taking the initiative to share Christ in the power of the Holy Spirit

What do you think of all this? Let the Missionartist know!

