Journey has Begun

Standard

I am here. In Medan, Indonesia. I am here.

 

It has barely sunk in. The whole day was a haze, starting with two consecutive flights in the wee hours of the morning, arriving in Medan sleepless, and yet acutely aware of the fact that this soil is different soil, this air (though almost as polluted as Manila air, no offense) is different air, these people are different people, and our journey to reach them has begun.

 

I smile when I remember my own journey towards preparing for Hybrid…

 

…the chagrin when, in the process of applying for my first passport, I found out that some of my papers had problems…

 

…the agony of waiting, and waiting and waiting without certainty whether my papers will be

fixed in time for summer Hybrid

 

…fervently seeking God’s will if He will allow me to join Hybrid

 

… the gratefulness when the assurance came

 

…the doubts starting to creep in the moments of  waiting

 

…the relief when I finally got my passport barely just in time for Hybrid May schedule

 

…the challenge of raising for Hybrid simultaneously with DMPD

 

…the awe as I saw God provide through people

 

…fighting the temptation to panic when Hybrid support wasn’t enough as the deadline approached

 

…and the rebuke when, hours before we reached Medan, waiting at the Kuala Lumpur airport, I received a notification from a Ministry Partner of a gift they are sending for this mission trip, effectively completing my support.

 

The God of the universe has been, ever since, teaching me to trust in Him. By His strength and grace, I will continue to do that.

2 responses »

What do you think of all this? Let the Missionartist know!

