Tribute: Like life-sustaining rain, like life-giving heart.

Standard

[This is a tribute to you, my dear brother.

And though I intend this to be as flowery/touching/heartfelt as a eulogy (but still honest!), I am by no means pre-empting your passing away. Not at all! See, I am under the impression that compliments are better shared than kept. And what better time to dole out compliments than on your birthday! :D]

 

Remember that sky lantern night during the Staff Conference?

I told you how I watched you help light up every other’s sky lantern. And I told you how I found that so poignant, so stirring – of that image of you helping others light their respective sky lanterns could very well parallel the image of you helping others let their dreams take flight.

But the reason why I found it so moving was because that night, I was so distressed (perhaps too much) about the fact that we couldn’t light our own lantern. It was distressing because our failed sky lantern seemed symbolic of my own dreams not flying. A bit petty, perhaps, but I was depressed watching other sky lanterns soar while ours burned to the ground.

And then there you were, busy with others’ lanterns, unselfishly helping – a very stark contrast to my own self-centered dilemma.

That, brother, was one of the most rebuking to me in the entire conference. That picture of you helping, sharing, encouraging, reaching.

I don’t know if you know it, but you exude such a quiet, calm strength and confidence that is both comforting and challenging.

And of course, your humor is always epic.

Keep on, and be strong!

May you be like your name.

Like rain, which always gives life. Rain – the absence or presence of which is the difference between life and death for many people.

Like a heart, the absence of which will surely mean death.

In other words, may you exude life from within and without.

What do you think of all this? Let the Missionartist know!

